Trains and Airports

There are many different kinds of songs we listen to especially when we are happy or sad or we just want to get in a certain kind of mood. There are those happy songs we listen to before a night out and instantaneously get up and dance or wiggle (if you’re like me) with a glass of red wine as you’re trying to apply your makeup; there are motivational songs that will make you straight up pull out your laptop and write that 5000 word essay for your uni coursework because really you can’t afford to fail and get deported to your parents house; and then there are those songs that we listen to when we say goodbye.

Trains and airports and sometimes bus stations are the places we say goodbye to the ones we hold dear. If we say it right, we might never have to say it again. While we are seated in that moment waiting to board our train or flight and all we are left with is just our thoughts and memories of the days past…

This spotify playlist “Trains and Airports” was inspired by my recent travel. They are just a collection of 14 songs I listened to. I actually enjoy listening to it straight on without the shuffle option because of the way I arranged the song. This was meant to be a mixtape cd, but it’s 2015 I don’t think anyone shares CDs anymore. Usually, I would have this songs playing in an infinite loop till I got to my destination or till I’ve cried my eyes out (whichever one happened first); because really goodbyes hurt!

If you’re ready, find a comfy seat, grab your earphones and click play to enjoy my Spotify playlist. A little preview here: It starts off with a soundtrack from “Begin Again” and ends with “Leaving on a jet plane”

  1. “A Step You Can’t Take Back” by Keira Knightley: This is a soundtrack from Begin Again. Great movie! This is a song for anyone who’s ever been alone in a city.Favorite verse: Here comes the train upon the track
    And there goes the pain, it cuts to black
    Are you ready for the last act?
    To take a step you can’t take back?
  2. “Just Give Me A Reason” by Pink and Nate Reuss: Not much to say about this song really. The title says it all. Favorite verse: Just give me a reason/
    Just a little bit’s enough/
    Just a second we’re not broken just bent/
  3. “My Own Way” by Kita Alexander: Favorite verse: Would you still dance with me
    If you could get my heart for free?
    My heart for free
    But you know I’m coming back…
  4. “Only love Can Hurt Like This” by Paloma Faith: I like this song.
  5. “I’ll Keep Loving You” by David Guetta: Favorite verse: I’m not perfect, so
    I’m a rolling stone
  6. “Hold Back The River” by James Bay: You know how much I absolutely adore James Bay. He sings so beautifully and all his songs give me different feels. When I listen to this song I think of letting go and just being calm and not crying; because sometimes that’s all we want to do. Cry. Favorite verse: Once upon a different life
    We rode our bikes into the sky
    But now we’re caught against the tide
    Those distant days all flashing by
  7. “Like A fool” by Keira Knightley: Another soundtrack from Begin Again. Keira wrote this song when she was ready to deal with her cheating ex. She left it as a voicemail which I thought was brilliant. Prior to that she was going through old photos of their relationship which I think allowed her to write her feelings into words. Favorite verse: We take a chance from time to time
    And put our necks out on the line
    And you have broken every promise that we made
  8. “Ghost” by Ella Henderson: Favorite verse: I keep going to the river to pray
    ‘Cause I need something that can wash out the pain
  9. “Ready For You Love” by Gorgon City, MNEK: This is for when you are ready to finally get on the train and start your journey. Favorite verse: I’m ready to be strong, I pump my fist
    I’m ready to be wrong so I can be right there
    I’m ready to belong and shook my cares
  10. “I Got You” by Jax Jones, Duke Dummont: A bit of upbeat song to lighten the mood. Favorite verse: Ask me what I did with my life
    I spent it with you
  11. “Let Me Down Easy” by Paolo Nutini: Something groovy. Favorite verse: On a better day
    We’d be waiting on our corner
    Selling dreams of redemption
    But this time you’ve gone your way
    So I’ll go mine
  12. “Running” by James Bay: Favorite verse: When our picture fades in the SUN
    And all the colors blur in the one
    I’ll keep running
    To the place where I belong
  13. “Feeling Good” by Nina Simone: Favorite verse: Yeah, freedom is mine, and I know how I feel..
    It’s a new dawn, it’s a new day, it’s a new life for me
  14. “Leaving on a jet plane” by John Denver: Yep! This is the point you try to convince yourself you said the goodbye right. Favorite verse: There’s so many times I’ve let you down
    So many times I’ve played around
    I tell you now, they don’t mean a thing
    Ev’ry place I go, I’ll think of you
    Ev’ry song I sing, I’ll sing for you

You can follow me on Spotify here if you are into my kind of music. I hope you enjoy listening to it : )

“I’d long ago learned not to be picky in farewells. They weren’t guaranteed or promised. You were lucky, more than blessed, if you got a goodbye at all”. 

Random bit: Being a 22year old (teenager) is almost over in a few days

Love,

RGND

Leave a comment